Centre des campagnes

2016

Le but de ce projet était donner le pouvoir à les gens à soumettre les pétitions améliorer les rues dangereuses dans vos quartiers. En plus, à montrer les pétitions dans un manière plus beau. (Aller au site)

Mon rôle

Pour ce projet, après la collecte des exigences, l'obstacle principal était à écrire la connexion entre le site Drupal et notre GRC. Je l'ai écrit en PHP. Après la création du preuve de concept, j'ai écrit le thème du Drupal selon les images de notre graphiste talentueux Sasha O'Malley.

La collecte des exigences

L'idée de ce projet était une façon à montrer les pétitions en ligne dans un manière plus beau. Dans le passé, TransAlt a utilisé un système antérieur à montrer les pétitions, mais il y avait une API. Elle peut accepter la même information mais par un autre site avec une meilleure interface.

La création du site

Le site a créé avec Drupal, que gerer le contenu et l'histoire des révisions, ainsi que le compte de signatures et autres métadonnées. Le thème été créé comme un thème de Bootstrap d'apparaître similaire au site principal, Transalt.org.

La connexion avec la GRC

La chose le plus difficile était la connexion entre le site Drupal et la GRC. C'était fait avec un script de PHP que traite les données.

Le lancement

Au début, le site a lancé avec une pétition, de la sœur d'une cycliste qui été tuée sur Classon Avenue en Brooklyn. C'était un succès viral, avec cinq mille signatures dans quelques jours. Dans les semaines suivantes, j'ai ajouté tous les campagnes au site.

Les donées

Dans le système ancien, il n'y a pas beaucoup de données sur les utilisateurs. Cependant, le nouveau site a un système où le personnel peut voir un tableau de bord avec signatures en temps réel. C'était finalement possible à voir si une pétition devient virale.

Centre des campagnes
Centre des campagnes
Centre des campagnes

Campaigns Center

2016

The purpose of this project was to allow people to submit petitions requesting changes in dangerous streets in their neighborhood, as well as display the petitions more attractively in one place. [Visit the site.]

My Role

For this project, after the initial gathering of requirements, the main technical hurdle was to write the PHP connector from the Drupal site to the CRM API, which I wrote and debugged myself (with some expert code review by the Director of Technology). I also built the site from the ground up working off of a design by the wonderfully talented Sasha O'Malley.

Requirements gathering

This project was envisioned as a way to display online petitions in a more attractive way. TransAlt used a legacy system to power the display of their online petitions, but there was an API allowing submission of the same data through another frontend.

Site build with Drupal

I created the site using Drupal as the frontend, managing all content and revision history. Drupal would also handle the counts of signatures and other metadata. The Drupal theme was built as a Bootstrap subtheme, in order to have harmonious stylings with the main transalt.org site, also built in Bootstrap.

CRM Connection

The trickiest part of the whole project was connecting the Drupal site to the legacy CRM. This was accomplished by writing a connection in PHP that processed the signature inputs.

Launch

The site initially launched with one petition, a plea from the sister of a cyclist had been killed in Brooklyn. It was a viral success, collecting over five thousand signatures in a few days. In the next few weeks, staffers added all previous campaigns to the center.

Tracking and Reporting

In the legacy system, there was limited reporting of signatures. However, one of the features of the new site was an internal dashboard pulling content from Google Analytics events. When a person signed a petition, the dashboard would reflect the totals within five minutes, allowing organizers to see when a petition was going viral.

Campaigns Center
Campaigns Center
Campaigns Center